Judicial Compensation and Benefits Commission



Commission d'examen de la rémunération des juges

NOTICE

December 16, 2020

The Judicial Compensation and Benefits Commission was established in 1999 to inquire every four years into the adequacy of the salaries and other amounts payable to federally-appointed judges under the *Judges Act* and into the adequacy of judges' benefits generally. In 2014, the *Act* was amended to provide that for the purposes of the inquiry the prothonotaries of the Federal Court be considered as judges. Under the provisions of the *Act*, the Commission must submit a report containing its recommendations to the Minister of Justice within nine months after the date of commencement of its inquiry. The Minister shall respond to the report within four months after receiving it. In its Ruling dated June 10, 2020, the Commission, with the consent of the Minister of Justice and the judiciary, postponed the commencement date of its inquiry from June 1, 2020 to December 1, 2020.

The Commission invites parties wishing to comment on matters within the Commission's mandate to forward their written submissions, in either official language, preferably in electronic format, to: <u>info@quadcom.gc.ca</u>. Paper versions of submissions will also be accepted at the Commission's offices at 99 Metcalfe Street, 8th floor, Ottawa, Ontario, K1A 1E3. Parties wishing to make an oral presentation at the Commission's hearings, which will be held by videoconference, should indicate so when they file their written submission. Details on connecting to the hearings will be posted in due course on the Commission's web site at <u>www.quadcom.gc.ca</u>.

The following schedule is established:

- 29 March 2021 deadline for the Government, the judiciary and prothonotaries to file their principal submissions
- 8 April 2021 deadline for other parties to file their principal submissions
- 30 April 2021 deadline for filing reply submissions
- 10 and 11 May 2021 public hearing by videoconference

All submissions will be posted on the Commission's web site.

Chairperson Martine Turcotte *Commissioners* Margaret Bloodworth Peter Griffin *Executive Director* Louise Meagher